10 points for Genetic Purity (in food)

April 25, 2009 at 8:53 pm 1 comment

I’ve always been a little wary of GMO food. I’m not interested in eating tomatos spliced with fish genes. I’d rather not have my corn doused in roundup. And remember that big corn recall in the 90’s, when an innocuous bean gene caused fatal allergic reactions in corn?

My decision not to (knowingly) eat GMO food is a personal one, but it still makes me wary when GMO seed companies suggest that they are part of the solution to world hunger and “sustainable agriculture”. And when I learned from The Future Of Food about Monsanto suing a Saskatchewan farmer for patent violation after they contaminated his crops with their seeds.

and then I read this:

Herbicide-tolerant soybeans, herbicide-tolerant corn and Bt corn have failed to increase intrinsic yields, the report found. Herbicide-tolerant soybeans and herbicide-tolerant corn also have failed to increase operational yields, compared with conventional methods.

So, not only do my veggies taste better and fulfill my desire genetically pure food, but they also have the same yields as herbicide drenched ones. Take that, GMO advocates!

Entry filed under: Food, Garden, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

When to Plant? Standing Up to the Madness: how four librarians beat the patriot act

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Food Standards, eh? « Living Lime  |  August 2, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    […] Oh, and they didn’t think it was important to consider the effects of eating pesticides, many of which are carcinogenic. Thanks, Food Standards Agency; I could have made a terrible environmentally conscious decision if you hadn’t opened my eyes (again)! Eat on… […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

livinglime on twitter:

Archives


