Spring Makeover: Our expanding Urban Homestead.

April 27, 2009 at 4:47 pm Leave a comment

This weekend we removed the last of our grass, making way for more food. Grass represents things that I’m not into, not the least of which is mowing. Last year, an old Italian lady asked me, as I offered her herloom black cherry tomatos from my front yard, “Don’t you have a back yard?” Now I can answer that with, “You should see how much food I can grow back there!”
The Urban Homestead says that it’s best to avoid tilling, but sadly, we are too lazy busy to dig it up by hand. This means more maintenance work later, but at least I can get right in there. And it’s so satisfying to look at 🙂

Before:
img_9907
That’s sawdust, not dead grass. Excellent soil additive! You can see the tiny patch of dirt around the perimeter that I used last year.

After!
img_9916

I was so happy to tromp around in the fresh dirt 🙂
img_9911

Entry filed under: Food, Garden. Tags: , , , , .

Space Broccoli: Gardens on the Moon? Inspiring Upcycling: Electricity-Free Lighting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

livinglime on twitter:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


