Growing Bananas in -40 degree weather

May 22, 2009 at 5:48 pm Leave a comment

The thing people always ask me when I say I’m on the 100 mile diet is, don’t you miss bananas? [Full disclosure: I can’t kick avocados, which have their tasty hooks in me] I was never that big on bananas, but I’ve tried unsuccessfully to start a dwarf variety from seed a few times (they can take up to 3 years to germinate). Amory B. Lovins (great name!) has done even better. He harvests full sized banana crops grown indoors in a -40 degree climate, without even heating the space. And the technology he used is 20 years old.

Watch this video. It’s not just about the bananas, it’s about intelligent energy-saving design, and it brought me back from the depths of GMO dispair last night.

Because I can’t endorse the Chevron PR ad preceding the vid, here’s a bonus image:
chevron bs

Entry filed under: consume less, Food, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Drop that Corn Chip! – Scary GMO studies Deception at the local “Farmer’s Market”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

livinglime on twitter:

Archives


